4055 : Outline of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement

On November 15, 2020, the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement was signed by the Member States of ASEAN, Japan, China, Korea, Australia, and New Zealand. On January 1, 2022, the RCEP Agreement entered into force among Japan, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, China, Australia, and New Zealand. In addition to these countries, the Agreement also entered into force for Korea on February 1, 2022, for Malaysia on March 18, 2022, for Indonesia on January 2, 2023, and for the Philippines on June 2, 2023.

Reference documents for the RCEP Agreement are available on the following website.

(1) Outline (MOFA HP)

https://www.mofa.go.jp/policy/economy/page2e_000001.html

(2) Reduction or Elimination of Tariff on Imported Goods

Japan is to either reduce or eliminate its tariffs in accordance with its Schedule in Annex I (Schedules of Tariff Commitments) of the RCEP Agreement.

Tariff lines indicated with "U" in each stage of reduction in the Schedule are excluded from any commitment of tariff reduction or elimination.

Schedule of Tariff Commitments: Japan

https://www.mofa.go.jp/files/100129160.pdf

Schedule of Tariff Commitments: Other countries

https://www.mofa.go.jp/policy/economy/page1e_kanri_000001_00007.html