Regional Customs
  • Hakodate
  • Tokyo
  • Yokohama
  • Nagoya
  • Osaka
  • Kobe
  • Moji
  • Nagasaki
  • Okinawa
 > About Moji Customs

About Moji Customs

History of Moji Customs

 The history of Moji Customs dates back to 1889, when a Customs Sub-branch office under the jurisdiction of Nagasaki Customs was placed in Moji Port. Moji Port was then designated as a special port for the export of coal, rice, wheat, flour and sulfur.
 Meanwhile, with the development of the port, the sub-branch office was upgraded to a Customs branch office and in November 1909, it was separated from Nagasaki Customs to become the seventh regional Customs in Japan.
 When World War Ⅱ become fierce and foreign trade became stagnant, Moji Customs was closed in 1943. It was re-opened in June 1946 as the regional Customs covering the entire area of Kyushu Island and Yamaguchi prefecture which include the area covered by Nagasaki Customs before the war.
 In 1953, Nagasaki Customs was separated from Moji Customs to become a separate regional Customs. Now we are working hard to protect the community and to contribute to the development of the region which is the gateway to the Asia Pacific Region.



Jurisdiction and Organization of Moji Customs

 The Customs is a regional agency under the Ministry of Finance.
 From north to south, the nine Customs regions are: Hakodate, Tokyo, Yokohama, Nagoya, Osaka, Kobe, Moji, Nagasaki, and Okinawa.
 Moji Customs covers the following wide area as its jurisdiction: the prefectures of Yamaguchi, Oita, Miyazaki, Fukuoka and Saga (excluding the area along Ariake Bay), and the islands of Iki and Tsushima in Nagasaki.
 This area includes nineteen open sea ports for foreign trade and four international airports.