4052 : Outline of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)

On March 8, 2018, the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) was signed by Japan, Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. On December 30, 2018, the CPTPP entered into force among Japan, Australia, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore. In addition to these countries, the agreement also entered into force for Vietnam on January 14, 2019, for Peru on September 19, 2021, for Malaysia on November 29, 2022, for Chile on February 21, 2023, and for Brunei on July 12, 2023. On July 16, 2023, the CPTPP Parties and the UK signed the Protocol of Accession. The agreement will enter into force for the UK once the UK and CPTPP Parties have finished their legislative processes.

The materials about the CPTPP are available on the following website.

## (1) Outline (MOFA HP)

https://www.mofa.go.jp/ecm/ep/page25e 000266.html

## (2) Elimination of Tariff on Imported Goods under the CPTPP

The CPTPP provides for tariff reduction or elimination in Annex 2-D (Tariff Schedule).

## Tariff Schedule of Japan

<u>https://www.cas.go.jp/jp/tpp/tppinfo/kyotei/tpp\_text\_en/pdf/2-D\_Japan-Tariff-Elimination-Schedule.pdf</u>

## Tariff Schedule of other countries

https://www.cas.go.jp/jp/tpp/tppinfo/kyotei/tpp text en/index.html#TPP